Dorrance Dance

…Praise: The Inevitable Fruit of Gratitude

July 9-10

For the first-time ever, Queens Theatre will step to a new beat in Flushing Meadows Corona Park this summer with the world premiere of the award-winning Dorrance Dance’s "…Praise: The Inevitable Fruit of Gratitude" on July 9-10. The free performances will launch Queens Theatre’s summer season filled with music, dance, and cultural programming on our new outdoor summer stage just yards away from our facilities in Flushing Meadows Corona Park.

Josette And Joseph Wiggan 1

The extraordinary Dorrance Dance tap dancers will embark on a journey that explores a rhythmical expression of the innermost yearnings of gratitude by coming together in …Praise: The Inevitable Fruit of Gratitude, created by Josette Wiggan-Freund in collaboration with the musical genius of jazz trumpeter phenom Keyon Harrold.


Friday, July 9, 2021 at 7:30 PM ET

Saturday, July 10, 2021 at 2:00 PM ET

Saturday, July 10, 2021 at 7:30 PM ET

About Dorrance Dance

Based in New York City, Dorrance Dance is an award-winning tap dance company currently celebrating its 10th Anniversary. Led by Founder/Artistic Director Michelle Dorrance with Josette Wiggan-Freund and Nicholas Van Young, the company supports dancers and musicians who embody and push the dynamic range that tap dance has to offer. The company’s mission is to engage with audiences on a musical and emotional level, and to share the complex history and powerful legacy of this Black American art form through performance and education.

Founded in 2011, the company has received countless accolades, rave reviews, and has performed at venues including Danspace Project, Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival, The Joyce Theater, New York City Center, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Vail Dance Festival, the Kennedy Center, Lincoln Center Out of Doors, Works and Process at the Guggenheim, Carolina Performing Arts at UNC Chapel Hill, Cal Performances at UC Berkeley, among many others, including international venues in Canada, France, Germany, Spain, England, Hong Kong, Singapore, and Russia.